Souffle Day

I decided to make some chocolate Souffle’s for no reason other than that I had all the ingredients and I felt like baking. This is my attempt at recreating or reinacting Najwa Kronfel’s recipe that I found on her site, Delicious Shots here: http://deliciousshots.blogspot.it. (I do NOT own this recipe)

Ingredients:

8 oz bittersweet chocolate – you can use a baking bar or chips either way you will be melting this

1 stick of butter

3 eggs

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup flour

2 teaspoons of vanilla – I added an extra spoon because I just love the hint of vanilla mixed with the chocolate.

photo (2)

Set your oven to 400 degrees F. You can start  preparing your ramekins by placing them on a baking sheet as well as applying generous amounts of butter. I used Land O Lakes Unsalted.

Then melt your chocolate, (I invested a bit and bought two bars of Godiva) with the stick of butter either in the microwave or in a double boiler. You can turn the heat off when the mixture is smooth.

photo (4)

In a separate bowl beat the eggs and sugar with an electric mixer, beat in the vanilla.

photo (6)

photo (8)

Stir the egg concoction into the chocolate. Then add in the flour and mix well.

photo (10)
photo (12)

Put the batter into four ramekins. I thought I had extra batter so I prepared a fifth ramekin. Turns out that that batter is necessary for the other four souffles in order to get that fluffy poof at the top.

photo (13)

Finally bake for 12-15 minutes, mine took about 13. The edge of the cake should be set but the center is supposed to look a bit more fluid-like. You can serve them as is with some powdered sugar on top or invert them onto plates and serve with ice cream.

photo (14)

photo (16)

Are there any recipes you would like me to try out? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

