Word to the Wise

I was looking into colleges to transfer to (long story, even longer post coming your way soon) and one of the essay questions was about wisdom. Another was If you could be anyone, who would you be?

This question is usually served as an icebreaker at the typical orientation or casual (yet forced) meeting of acquaintances (strangers). So, why am I asking you this question? Why the heck should I even answer this question? Why is there a tree growing out of a book in this picture?

“Tree of Wisdom”

One of the many things people tell me to maintain a healthy mentality is:

  1. Perfect is an unattainable goal. – This can be argued, I myself have done so but in the end it really does make sense. Nothing and no one is perfect. So why do you want to be someone else? Let me tell you, they aren’t perfect. The reasons why you want to be them is more important than anything.
  2. Do what you can with what you have. – For lack of a better phrase shit happens. Yes I cursed on my blog, aren’t I aĀ  rebel. Back to my point, there are things out of your control therefore sometimes you are put into situations which you never planed on being in. At this point you must remember to be grateful, things aren’t as bad as they seem and if they are that means they can only get better.
  3. No one has all the answers, not even me (gasp). Not your therapist (still go, they can be helpful). Not your mom (gotta love her). There is always room to learn and improve so why would I want to be someone else?

The last piece of wisdom I have to offer it to stop reading my blog. Haha just kidding, come back and see me sometime.

Leave a Reply

