Labels and Spirit Animals

So in my sculpture class, yes you read that correctly sculpture class, my super artsy Professor (who hates being called professor and smells like pine cones and looks like some rapper I don’t listen to) wanted us to tell him our spirit animal.

There were some people in the class that did not know what the term meant and if you are reading this you may not know as well. So for your ease and convenience here is the definition from Urban Dictionary: “In pagan religions and systems, a spirit animalor totem is meant to be a representation of the traits and skills that you are supposed to learn or have. Online, saying something or someone isΒ your spirit animal is a statement that said person or thing is a representation of you or what you want to be”.

urban-dictionary

Anyway part of our project is making a self-sculpture. He had us look at ourselves in the mirror and practice making miniature sculptures out of clay. (No comment on how uncomfortable this made me)

When it was my turn to say who my spirit animal is the first person who came to my mind was Katie Heaney, who if I had said her name no one would have appreciated her genius. So instead I said Mindy Kaling which ironically also resulted in confused faces and a polite nod from my professor until I belittled her awesomeness by saying “the girl from the office?”. They are two of my favorite people for a number of reasons.

mindy3

1) They both wrote clever and thoughtful books! – Before I die, even if it’s a crappy children’s book with stick figures or a unicorn version of 50 Shades of Grey I will be a published author. I like the style of their books, short essays and excerpts of things that have happened in their lives. Here is a link to Katie’s and a link to Mindy’s.

2) They both have successful careers and are currently contently single! Need I say more?

3) They build content – Heaney works for Buzzfeed and Kaling wrote, produced and stars in her show The Mindy Project.

Be sure to think long and hard about who your spirit animal is, people will judge you based on this but,Β more importantly, spirit animals are a great guide for those sticky situations – you might catch yourself saying “what would Katie do?” or “what would Mindy do?” …..

Leave a Reply

