Text’s From Jane Eyre

So I was browsing the internet this Sunday evening and came across this interesting web-feature  written by Mallory Ortberg. In the title was Jane Eyre so I being the nerd that I am had to read more.

In the process I also found out that Mallory’s feature is now available as a book! It is basically a highly imaginative compilation of texts of Literary Characters if they had been able to use cell phones.

textsfromjane

 

One of my favorites that are posted on her series feature on thehairpin.com is between Mr. Rochester and Jane Eyre:

“JANE
MY LITTLE SUNBEAM
WHERE ARE YOU
I NEED YOU BY MY SIDE
I’m taking a walk
be back for dinner
AH YES MY CAGED SPRITE
COMMUNE WITH NATURE AND UPON YOUR RETURN
RELATE TO ME THE VAGRANT GLORIES OF THE  RUINED WOODS
do you really want me to describe my walk to you
MORE THAN ANYTHING YOU POCKET WITCH
it is fairly cloudy out
looks like rain soon
AHHH TO THINK THAT MY LITTLE STARLING JANE
SHOULD RETURN
TO PERCH ON MY BROKEN MALFORMED SHOULDER
SINGING A SONG OF THE GREY AND WRACKING SKIES
MAKES MY HEART SWELL TO BURST
all right” 

So funny – and accurate! So witty and perfect for all literary geeks. Christmas is coming up soon ……  😉 You can buy her book here.

Mallory is also the co-creator of The Toast which produces great original content! I mean who wouldn’t want to know how to bake a cake in an orange? Maybe that’ll be my next recipe review?

 

Night lovies.

 

Leave a Reply

